Indian Summer

What an incredible day for training yesterday! 73 degrees, sunny, but with enough of a cooling breeze off of the Bay to make for perfect training weather. It’s nice to be in a place in my life where I can enjoy such a day for what it is. There was a time long, long ago when I would have seen such a day as almost a wasted training day. When the weather is perfect everybody is motivated and training. Only when the weather was really beastly hot or cold or rainy or snowy did I feel like I had a chance to get ahead of my competitors. Every time I went out to train in a rainstorm or snowstorm I told myself that the guy I was trying to beat was sitting at home waiting for the weather to clear and I was getting a leg up on him, and if I didn’t go out and battle the storm, that was the day my competitors were going to get ahead of me. I also felt like training in horrible weather would make me tougher for the inevitable hot or cold or rainy race days ahead. I’ll have plenty of nasty weather days ahead of me this winter, so today is another perfect weather day to revel in and store in the memory banks to help get me through the tougher days ahead. 18k or bust today!

Leave a Reply

